The Rain in Spain Does Not, In Fact, Fall Mainly on the Plain

Tuesday: Tricastela to Sarria, 18.7k
Wednesday: Sarria to Portomarin, 23k
Thursday: Portomarin to Palas de Rei, 25k

Actually, the rain falls mainly in Galicia. The residents of the Plains were complaining of drought when we walked through, just as they have been for the last several centuries. In Galicia, I’ve heard that it rains at least one day out of three. That means that we’re overdue for some sunshine, since it rained the first 3 days we’ve been here. Fortunately, the predicted forecast has us arriving into Santiago on a sunny weekend.

At first, I did not mind the rain. It was relatively gentle and created small creeks under my feet along the Camino. I tried to be grateful that it was keeping me cool and tried to imagine it as washing away my stressors in life. That optimism lasted about an hour. As the rain persisted, and began to permeate my clothes and boots through my rain gear, my gratitude shifted towards the warm bars I kept convincing myself would be just around the next bend. Now my gratitude lies in the fact that I can consider myself not robbed of any part of the pilgrim experience, sopping wet misery included, but that I can look forward to sun and (hopefully, eventually) dry clothes.

Another positive result of the near constant rain is that I no longer feel like I need to immediately visit Ireland or New Zealand or the like for a while – Galicia has given me my fair taste of lush, wet greens for now.

image

image

There have been a few times I’ve been waiting for hobbits or fairies or unicorns to appear. (But sadly no sightings yet).

It is hard to fathom that I am now only 65k away from Santiago. Even though I’ve been following my progress along the map, and walking for over a month now, its hard to believe I’ve come so far. However, it does provide solid evidence that big goals can be accomplished (or near-accomplished, knock on wood) one step at a time, and with the help and support of others. I have mixed feelings about my Camino coming to a close. There is a part of me that longs for the material comforts of home: a warm bed, my car, horses, constant wifi, peanut butter. Yet, the Camino has taught me that these things don’t ultimately matter. Additionally, the Camino has allowed a vacation from most real-life stressors (the election, for one), and I can only hope I can continued to stay somewhat immune to these stressors upon my return home. And fortunately, I still have plans to make it to ocean before I get to put down my stick!

PS: And here’s some proof of the cows I was trying to convey in earlier posts.

image

Getting ready for their daily walk.

image

image

Other cows on their daily walk, mixed in with the other pilgrims and me! Notice the horns.

Leave a Reply

